Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Squaring the circle

After another long day in the office I made the mistake of listening to an audiobook involving a particularly nasty serial killer, which did not lighten my mood. I had to pick some medication up for our old lady cat (she is nineteen) and as I pulled in to the car park a disconsolate family were emerging from the vet crying and clutching a blanket that had clearly belonged to a much loved pet that they had just said goodbye to. It was a sad scene played out in the rain under grey skies. Then when I got home the builders had started fencing off the old laundry next door to start the demolition in preparation for building retirement flats … large dozers and diggers heralding eighteen months with a building site next door. Not great …

That's the problem with emotions; you can't just have the good. You have to take the rough with the smooth. 

I couldn't settle tonight. I have this thing sometimes, where I feel I ought to be "doing" - cleaning, paperwork, whatever - when sometimes you should just let go.

Anyway I like this composition: rug, coffee table, vase shot directly from overhead. Made me feel better. That and sorting out some paperwork and tidying the kitchen...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.