LadyPride

By LadyPride

Another day, another dollar

Had to go to Nottingham for work meetings again today. Thankfully I didn't cry about leaving Audrey this time as think my hormones are finally settling. Plus I was able to give myself a rationale talking to. "It's only a day. You'll be back tonight. She's in safe hands etc etc"

My mother-in-law was on our doorstep reporting for duty at 8.30am this morning, bless her. Gave me chance to shower and make myself look half decent.

Fully made up and caffeinated, I was able to arrive at the station early. It felt sort of wrong. The freedom felt illicit somehow. I wandered around, bought a magazine and kept feeling guilty. Surely I should be feeding her now? Or changing her? Or washing some bottles? Or putting a wash on? Or tiding up? No? Really? I can just walk round this station concourse and enjoy normal activities like sipping a coffee and buying a magazine? Marvellous.

Had a tricky staff issue to tackle today and took no prisoners. The new direct, sleep-deprived me is not to be messed with. So much for women softening when they have children. Think am almost harder in a work sense.

Today's blip pic is of my Mum feeding me when I was a baby. Amazing how fascinating pics like these are when you have your own child. We've spent hours pouring over family shots looking for nose similarities etc. Alas, Audrey still looks like my husband (and his side of the family). For now anyway. It is what I would call a watching brief. Mwah ha ha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.