Lenore

By Lenore

Fallen fig tree

Life will never be boring - this is what my mother in law promised me about Zimbabwe.  This afternoon, the fig tree in the garden fell down, no winds, no bad weather, just came down.  Or at least half of it did.  

Dirk and I had just come back from seeing the neighbours and my husband was being made to concentrate on the horrible job of packing by his wife, when the gardener called us out as he was, rightfully, somewhat concerned about the tree and the noises it was making.  The maid was very concerned, the tree was pretty much next to where she was ironing and she looked distinctly unhappy about life.  After about 20 minutes of cracking and creaking, half of the tree fell down, it's made a pretty mess of the garden, but at least it fell away from the house and not on my parents-in-law bedroom.  

So there we are, never a dull day in Africa, and if my husband was looking for something to take his mind off packing, he got it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.