Breakfast!

I was up early so I could prepare my days juices and soups then as I was just about to whizz this lot up (with added apple juice) I noticed the sun shining on it - just had to be blipped!!!

Then all of todays work got cancelled!!

A fellow blipper was asking about different juicers yesterday so thought I'd just write a little bit about them incase I have been able to inspire you to start juicing by showing you my knickers yesterday!! You can stop reading now if it doesn't interest you at all, but I found it all a bit of a mine field and learnt the expensive way!

Firstly the juice diet I follow is from Jason Vale, the Juice master. He has a website, books, Instagram account and numerous apps for Apple and Android. Infact the top 5 'foodie' apps have 4 from Jason Vale!

Ideally you need a juicer and a blender. A liquidizer will do but I can totally recommend a Nutribullet. (Ideal TV are selling a Bullet 12 piece bundle for £59.99 at the mo)

Jason Vale does a piece on his website about juicers which is quite interesting. But basically there a 2 types. A centrifugal juicer and a cold press (or masticating but I dont like to use that word too much incase spell check changes the spelling!) juicer.

The centrafugal ones are ready available in stores and supermarkets for about £25 for a Phillips (Tesco) or The Sage Nutrijuicer by Heston Bloomin-whats his face for about £130. A centrifugal juicer spins the fruit at very high speed butt his puts heat through the juice and so kills some of the nutrients and oxidises it, making it turn brown after a while. But you cant put the softer fruits like berries, mango, avocado, banana or spinach in a cantrifugal juicer. They have to be blended.

I use this sort of juicer and it has been fine while I have been getting used to it. Theres nothing worse than spending a fortune on a gadget you use for a week then put away for ever.

But what you really need for the ultimate juice is a cold press juicer. But they are also quite expensive. £200 upwards. The cold press juicer slowly pushes the fruit thought a mesh and so usually does away with the blender. The JR800s (only available from the Juicy retreat website) also has a smoothie and ice cream attachment but they are a bit fiddly to wash out and change over so I would stick to my bullet for the avacado. Jason Vale uses the Optimum 500 juicer, again only available on the net. Its more expensive than the JR800 but funnily enough made in the same factory!! 

I will be buying the JR800S as soon as my Babyboy in Newquay stops needing my money off me!!! 

Ideally you want to make your juice as soon as you want them, but I have to make mine up for the day in the morning. Its ok too to make them up the night before but obviously they wont be as fresh or nutritious. 

Maca powder is another great thing to add. It tastes a bit like caramel, mixes well with anything and gives you energy. Cacao powder is also great for you chocoholics and less fattening.

Anyway, I could go on and on but its getting a bit boring and Jason does a better job than me - and he gets paid for it!!!!

But please feel free to message or email me if you need any help. I shall continue juicing now. I eat salads and fish in the evening, have the odd soup at lunchtime if its a bit nippy out there and treat myself to a few small rewards of the chocolate variety at the weekend, then end up craving a juice!!!

But it works for me!!!

Go on, go try a bit of beetroot!!!

while I was on the Juicy Retreat website, an instant chat person popped up and said If anyone buys a juicer off them because of my recommendation, I will get £20 off mine commission if I give them your name!!!!! Now thats an incentive to buy a juicer isnt it!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.