DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Grappling

For those of you who don't know..... I HATE GYMS!

But, needs must as I need to shift some blubber before our summer holiday easier said than done when people make crack pie for you!.

The diet I can cope with; slimming world is second nature to me now, I just need to be more disciplined and stop eating crap!

The gym however is another matter entirely; they're so boring. I'm a solitary creature when it comes to fitness; I might make friends with people there, but I like to go it alone rather than have a workout buddy.
That said, I need motivation and the only way I can figure that is to book in with a personal trainer.

I've joined a local, independent gym that's half the price of the sports centre. Sure, it doesn't have a pool, but that was an extra fee anyway at the SC.
Classes are limited to spin only, which isn't something I'd do as anything rotational is agonising on my left knee.
As for the other facilities, it's spot on. The main floor has all the cardio equipment and the weight machines, then upstairs is for free weights. All the men go up there to pose and grunt at each other!

The best part (for me) is that my membership gets me two 1 hour sessions with a personal trainer.

I had my first session last Friday and that was really a 'getting to know you' session, although he did make we work.
Today he really made me work and before we knew it, an hour and a half had gone!
He's not mean, but he'll say 'just do.....' like its nothing. When I try to wimp out all the time he won't let me and just tells me to take a breather then carry on.
He does take my dodgy knee and shoulder into consideration, so if we try something and it genuinely hurts, then we move on to something else.

I do whinge a lot and about everything; today's moan was about Clubland classics on the tv....dire! If I hear another Scooter track I might throw myself under the treadmill.
On the sessions I'm not with the PT I can listen to my own music, but I can't wear headphones while he's instructing me he probably wishes he could!.

He doesn't actually do much but just knowing he's standing there, watching, makes me have to stop being such a baby and get on with things.

Today's blip is of a machine called the 'grappler'. It's basically a rope on a pulley and you just pull the rope, hand over hand.
Sounds easy huh? Wrong.
'Just do 80 calories' he said I thought he meant eat them, that would have literally been a piece of crack pie.
The first 20 were fine, after that my arms felt like they were on fire.

This was made worse today by the fact I also went (under my own steam I hasten to add) yesterday, so I was generally aching all over.

I've a couple of rest days now, then am back with him again on Friday. The sessions get busy so to make sure I don't miss, I've got the next two weeks worth booked in.
I will be fit for summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.