Lemony1Lemon

By Lemony1Lemon

Day 42 - Paihia - hole in the rock

Definitely another thing to add to the lost of one of the best things I have ever done. We boarded at 9am and set off, 10 minutes after setting off a huge pod of dolphins were swimming side by side with the boat I couldn't stop smiling. It was just amazing! We stopped to pick up some people from Russel (where I have a free ticket to come across tomorrow.) Then we sailed past moturoa,black rocks,rangihoua bay, Marsden cross, assassination cove, motuarohia( a rich family lives on there.) Moturua,motukiekie islands and then we
got off the boat at otehei bay island and I walked up the Urupukapuka track to get a birds eye view, the water was crystal blue and again I couldn't stop smiling. I had my crisp buttys (note to self do not make crisp buttus the day before they go very very soggy) then we reboarded and made our way back to Paihia via paroa bay. It was the perfect day, blue skies and I carnt get over the dolphins how close they were to the boat!
They do a eco experience here where the boat takes you out and you can get in the water with wild dolphins, but as a lot of the pods have babies alot of them are canceled as they won't let you swim when they have babies. The way dolphin swimming should be!
Really nice end to my trip in New Zealand and to top it off I had the New Zealand famous hokey pokey ice cream! Yum 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.