From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Welcome to Shawshank!

Well, it's not really! Around the corner from Ayrshire Council House is this building. From the one side it's very garish and often has a bouncy castle or some weird thing to jump on. There's a lovely big sign that says Pirate Pete's and the air is full of kids screaming and throwing up pink popcorn and candy floss goo. OK, I'm exaggerating a bit but I'm glad we live up the other end of the beach! Kids, dogs, chips and candy floss are aplenty. The seagulls even get nervous down there!

I like this other side best! My favourte film ever is Shawshank Redemption. If there is anyone out there who hasn't seen it, I'm speechless! Yes, I am! It's a marvellous film, with a proper beginning, middle and end. Anyway, the grim prison in which it's set for most of it, looks a bit like this. I'd probably swim down a shit-filled sewerage pipe to escape if I was being persued by screaming children but apart from that, I'd probably lump it for 40 years or so.

I would have put a bit of opera on to accompany this picture as Andy Dufresne would have done once he was in charge of the prison library, but instead I'll play this which was more the type of thing your average resident in Shawshank would prefer. This is from one of the library scenes.

Hank Williams - Lovesick Blues

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.