Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cocktails and knees

The last two panes were sanded and primed this morning - it only needs a marathon session of painting three lots of top coats. Then washing all the painty smudges off the windows. Who needs a gym?

Actually, I eventually did twig to just taking a small container of paint up the ladder with me. This was so much better! No more up and down. I could go up and stay up. Why did it take me so long to think of this... And if you saw the effort it takes to hauling myself up to the top of the ladder, you'd cheer, I'm sure. I did, inwardly, each time.

Unfortunately, I have got quite a few splodges of paint on clothing. I tried to get most of the spots of paint off using white spirit, then washed them, but my favourite old ripped, holey, sitting-around-the-house cardi is completely ruined and beyond repair. JR will be delighted.

Archie is unconcerned about his silly old mum climbing ladders now, but I did look in and spy him sleeping on the other sofa - not on his special mat. I tapped the window at him and indicated that he should move, but he pretended not to know what I meant.

When I'd finished, thoughts of the gym were abandoned, but I did summon enough energy to get Archie's grooming table and clippers out (he watched the goings on with a resigned look on his face) and gave him a quick whizz and brush up. He was going out for lunch with Rufus and his mum, and I know that Rufus is looking very spruce, having been to the groomer yesterday.

Rufus, Archie and the ladies had a fine time in Montpelier's - cocktails and nibbles. Archie apparently, could see behind the bar, and couldn't take his eyes off the barman as he chopped (he loves that sound - carrots? apples?) and rattled around making cocktails. The barman was quite taken with the dogs, and came to say cheerio to them when his shift finished. (Photo courtesy of C, Rufus' mum).

Knee news: I'm now on the waiting list for TWO knee replacements. Not at the same time, mind you. Three months wait, but might get a cancellation. Thank you, NHS. No summer hols this year, but we'll make up for it next year! And every other year for the next decade or so. Hopefully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.