1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Bakewell

Another chilly, dull day with a few showers of rain. I pottered about in the garden during a dry period, attending to some seedlings and giving the guinea pigs a bit of chance to be outside.

Sav woke up quite early today ( having done a night shift ) and we decided we should do ' something '. We hopped into the car and drove up to Bakewell, where I'd read a food festival was being held. We only arrived at 3pm, so I think we missed the crowds. We chose to have burritos, which were delicious and then a quick wander about the town. We were too full to have one of the famous Bakewell puddings or tarts.

I've chosen to blip the bridge with all the love locks on it. It looks purpose built, but I don't think it really was!

My extra was taken on December 13th 1993 in Zaire. It's the closest I've ever come to making my mark on a bridge, and even then it was a group effort. We recorded the time it took us to get the truck we were travelling on ( I was on an overland trek through parts of Africa ) across the rather dodgy bridge. No rushing it, as getting the truck fixed if it got damaged would have been a headache to say the least. It took 67 mins. Some claims by others who had inscribed their ( faster ) times were met with sounds of disbelief from my fellow travellers! I didn't photograph them, not having a digital camera back then and not wanting to waste my precious film, but had to have a record of the bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.