a town called E.

By Eej

A Gift Dragonfly


While looking at my one-year-ago thumbnails this week I realised I have yet to spot/snap a dragonfly for 2012. I really wanted to cycle to the island today and see if I could score one, but I wasn't feeling it. It's odd; the temps are much more manageable and instead of going outside to do fun stuff I want to lay in bed or hang on the couch and watch tv. My head is so very, very tired. I did do laundry and baked a cake but it's more because I feel I have to be useful (the bane of my existence - feeling that I'm not worth shit if I'm not 'useful') than because I want to.

So, I pretended there were no dragonflies at the island today anyway to give myself an excuse.

And then I stepped outside to clean the pool (now that we have a net-on-a-stick) and the first thing I saw was a dragonfly landing on a rusty pole that is hanging out in the veggie patch. Aw. I figured I'd better not let the opportunity pass me by :)
While I had photos with better focus, I chose this one because I love how it seems to be watching me from behind a shield of wings. It's how I would like to see the world - protected by something that makes everything behind it seem vague and un-threathening.


I think I might watch some Prime Suspect until the Beloved comes home. Is it weird if I crawl under a blankie?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.