Because this is who I am

By Brighde

Open Return

Well. It's finally over. I did my exhibition at the Shipley and it was so great to hear so much positive feedback from people. One lady was an are teacher and she said it was her favourite and she would show her students.

I guess I should probably tell you all what it's about. Well, these are my tickets from Newcastle to Manchester. My initial idea was that I wanted to show my emotions when I go on this journey. But I also wanted to look at how people hold onto tickets and how they have become a precious object as well as being something that you need to go on a journey with. So I've made them out of clay, porcelain to be exact because porcelain is most expensive of all the clays and I've transferred that image of a ticket on to it which are actually the tickets I have used. There are 120 tickets in total because there are 120 miles from my house to Lee's house which wasn't going to be significant at first because it wasn't supposed to be about him but it's sort of become more about the emotions of a long distance relationship and how it can be hard. Which is a lot of the reason why I have held onto these tickets for so long because of sentimental purposes like if I was to go on the Metro I will just throw that to get away but if it was to get the Metro on my 21st birthday then I would keep it. I think everyone has kept tickets of a journey they've been on so they can look back and reflect. This project isn't a love story. It's about a time in my life where I experienced a lot of train journeys and how they effected me.

Happy blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.