Exodus

Well, I might as well announce it...

I'm making a little move, a little "hop over the pond". Across the Pacific in fact, to New Zealand. That's right, it's been a long time coming but it's finally happening!

I don't want to get too excited though. I've sure learned my lessons with that the past couple years. So I am being cautious. I've been accepted into an excellent PhD program over there, have a bunch of great advisors lined up, a house with other young science film folk, even a work visa. Still, being so far from home and family honestly freaks me out. And how to fund the schooling part without taking out loans remains a mystery, but one I'm committing myself to figuring out. At this point it is unfinished business, and that is just not my style to give up on things very easily.

So here I go - I'm looking at it as a reconnaissance mission of sorts. Is this the place for me? Can I deal with living so far away? Can I make this happen? There are many questions (and doubts) like this that plague me now and the best way to quell them is simply to live them. As Rilke once said, "live the questions themselves, and then perhaps one day, without even noticing it, you will walk into the answers"...

Indeed, so wish me well on this adventure wherever it takes me! Much blipping is sure to follow. For now, an image from the west coast, California dreaming. The radial designs and smooth colors of this agave caught my eye - from the first leg of my journey visiting friends for the next week in Santa Barbara.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.