Back to birds!

I have always wanted to see a lapwing , and today we left Elise sketching St Andrew's Cathedral and went to Loch Leven. I think I could have spent the whole day there, but we had 2 hours given that we had to give a defined time to pick Elise up . It was an amazing place. There were 2 chicks the parent in the photo was watching over as well ( little balls of fluff). The extra is a horned grebe on it's nest , which is a floating mat of reeds it actually puts together. There were swallows and purple martins everywhere and gulls everywhere. The loch also had lots of graylag geese and some pink footed geese ,as well as northern shovelers and tufted ducks( lots of those). I also have a photo of a juvenile but a juvenile what  I am not sure of.Yet. Hopefully I will be able to figure that one out. I've also seen Eiders, and mallards and a couple of oystercatchers on the rocks below the castle in St. Andrews, as well as a blue tit , chaffinch , rook , pied wagtail and some jackdaws in various places today. As well as a cathedral and castle ruin. It's a good thing we walked a lot because the day also included another scone and ice cream. EEEK!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.