The Marble Arch

Simon had a couple of Not Quite Light events on this weekend, which I would like to have to gone to, particularly this afternoon's session, where he'd set up some prints of his dawn photos in the settings where he took them and was taking a group 'round to look at them, accompanied by the interesting historical input of Emma Fox.

However, it was pretty much a logistical impossibility for me to get there, as I had stuff to do at home, including the radio show, and Hannah was coming over to get a lift down to Manchester with me in the afternoon.

We did manage to meet up with Simon at the Marble Arch on Rochdale Road for a post-event drink and a bite to eat, though. I'm not sure that my photo captures quite how nice it was, sitting out in the warm Manchester evening, chatting and catching up. Inside a band consisting of acoustic guitar, drums, violin, trumpet and harp were improvising (including a quick burst of 'Happy Birthday' from the violinist when I walked in carrying a couple of presents for Simon, who was fifty last week).

In the photo, you can make out a couple of his photos and the large easel type structures they were displayed on. I think I missed a good event, this afternoon. I'll have to make sure I get to the next one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.