Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Seat with a View

As I went about my daily business I thought I should blip a little corner of Carradale I don't think I have covered before. Portreigh is one of several little communities that stand alone and make up the larger village of Carradale.

When we were originally looking for a house to buy here back in 2000, Portreigh was on our list of favourite spots along with Waterfoot, where we now stay, and Shore Road, which runs north from the harbour.

Portreigh has a lovely little beach at the head of a horse shoe shaped cove, which makes a good anchorage in most winds. There are about a dozen houses and Dunvalanree, a small hotel with my favourite restaurant. The view from the best table is not dissimilar to this, although it looks more to the north east, which is to the left of the picture.

Today's cool north westerly wind, which can be seen on the surface of the sea, brought with it a few heavy showers. The bright almost tropical colours of the water near the shoreline belies the more temperate climate of these parts!

Its the annual village quiz tonight, so better go and brush up on my general knowledge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.