St Cecilia

Today's the day .......................... for a name

Wasn't it Shakespeare's Juliet who said, "What's in a name? That which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet......"

Well, I'm not sure I agree with her - or at least what I mean is that there is something very special and particular to the names we give our roses.  This one here is called St Cecilia - a birthday present given to me many years ago by brother Ron and Margaret.  It is exactly as it is described in the David Austin Rose catalogue - 'pale buff apricot in colour, turning almost to white.  Altogether a most elegant rose.  The fragrance is very strong and both remarkable and unusual; an English Rose myrrh character with lemon and almond blossom.'  I adore that rose.

I also like it that St Cecilia is the patron saint of music and musicians - and, of course, my name 'Sheila' is thought to be derived from the Irish Sile, a gaelic form of it.  Altogether a very appropriate rose for me to have .........................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.