Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A stitch up

Helped JR load up the car with cakes and pastries this morning. Luckily only my neighbour on the way to work saw me outside in my dressing gown...

I mended my hat. Again. Archie watched carefully while I told him,

'You will never chew my hat again.'
'You will never chew my hat again.'


Anne came to take him out for the day. (Apparently they got caught up in protests outside parliament, though I didn't spot them in the news footage). We had a chat about the referendum - interesting to hear an American point of view.

Once they'd gone, I nipped into town to - yes - return the shoes I bought a couple of weeks ago. At last I'm getting sensible with shoe buying (aged 65) and didn't go outside wearing them till I was sure. But no, my troublesome right toes cramped up in them, so they had to go.

I was going to have a wander round town and maybe get a city blip for a change, but I spotted my bus at the lights, and a voice in my head whispered, 'Tennis, a Magnum and the sofa...' and my feet rushed me to the bus stop instead.

Popped in to Dexter's house - the front door was open, and I haven't seen it open for many weeks. As I was beginning to suspect, M has not been well, and Dexter has gone to a new home. Sad, but really, he was too lively and energetic for M.

JR had her retiral shout this afternoon. She came home laden with gifts. And yes, a couple of spare slices of hummingbird cake. Yum yum.

And I won't mention the football...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.