LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Chess

One of the guys in our office plays chess online or via text messages, I can't remember which. I haven't played chess for a long time but I don't think this board represents a game in progress (I'm sure there aren't supposed to be 3 pawns spanning 2 squares). I didn't get a very good picture of it.

Mass Effect 3 arrived this morning from Lovefilm. It has kinect support which I was a bit wary of but it turns out only to be voice command support, no jumping up and down and waving arms around required. It is a welcome addition though best kept for when I'm alone in the house I think. Shouting 'James: Frag Grenade!' repeatedly with the occasional 'Cover me!' thrown in can be a bit disorienting for others in the house. Apart from the combat you can also navigate the cut sequence conversations by saying out loud whichever option you want, freeing your hands from having to hold the controller.

Spent lunchtime learning how to use CasperJS to do some automated testing and analysis. This meant that I had to revisit my attempts to put executables in the path. Last time I had edited my .profile but after restarting my machine I have lost them. Further investigation led me to my .bash_profile which seemed to work but I'm still very confused by the whole thing. The testing in CapserJS is good though, give it a URL and then test for the existence of things in the page structure (is the title xxx, do the links in this div have that specific class) and it will spit out how many tests passed or failed. This is the first step to a more test driven approach to coding where by I'll write the test and then code till it passes rather than just coding till I'm kinda happy with things (which is my current approach).

Jen made steak for dinner. Steak itself is fairly good but this was a 'make up' steak dinner and it was awesome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.