Front Yard

Today, I was greeted by smiling students.  The story goes like this:

As you know, I worked very hard up to the wee hours last night finishing the exam marks and finalizing them online in our system.  Unknown to me, of course, some of my students were still awake.  Apparently, their phones were still awake, too.  One student checked the OSIRIS app, where the marks are registered, and noticed that I was busy.  He immediately apped the rest of the class.  At one point, everyone was alerted and eagerly awaiting his mark.  "She's working!  At this time of night?!?  I wonder what mark I'll get. ..."  And then, 'Oh cripes, she's doing it alphabetically!  And my name starts with an 'R'!  The moment each mark was in, each student saw it, did a little jig, and then went to bed, thinking it was a dream.  Everyone checked the OSIRIS app again in the morning ... and confirmed last night's dreams.  Haha!

Today, though, I also met the two who failed.  They wondered why.  I explained why, and they agreed, and their re-sit is on Monday.  They missed two weeks worth of lectures and I wonder if today's coaching session helped.  They could have saved themselves a load of worry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.