Lakeland Dipper 32

Harrop

(I've replaced the original blip with this one which fits the Wordsworth better)
It threw some hefty showers today. I went for a late swim after doing various jobs. Boring, but have come back here as it was where I wanted to be.
Much cooler this week. As I write I am eagerly anticipating the restoration of my circulation. 
The ground was boggy, the water peaty with the recent rains, the martins were swooping low with startlingly white bellies and as the rain came down the drops sat as beads on the water before me as I swam out.

Though nothing can bring back the hour
Of splendour in the grass, of glory in the flower;
We will grieve not, rather find
Strength in what remains behind;
In the primal sympathy
Which having been must ever be;
In the soothing thoughts that spring
Out of human suffering;
In the faith that looks through death,
In years that bring the philosophic mind.

[from Wordsworth's Intimations Ode]

Wordsworth gets on my nerves sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.