Goodbye.

It was finally time to say our final Farewells to a great man. A great, Gentle Man.

Daughter Number 1 picked me up and we  met at Jay and Lenas house to greet his coffin with his family (cue the first tears) and followed him to the Crematorium. We all walked under an arch of Golf Clubs (cue more tears). The service was amazing and I was kept amused by Lenas little Nephew just infront of me. I love the innocence of such sweet little Hearts as they speak as loudly as they want! One of the songs was actually a recording of Jay singing (cue more tears) then when it had finished, and as the curtain went round (I hate that bit) his best friend shouted "Ladies and Gentlemen, Gentleman Jay has left the Building". A fabulous and fitting end to his life as a musician. 

The after party was held at the Fitness Club I used to be a member at and where Daughter Number 2 used to  work behind the Bar. I so wish she could have been there instead of half way round the world. There was an enormous gathering of adoring fans with the majority of them being Lenas incredible family. I am almost jealous of the closeness they all have but also admiration for how so many people can all look after each other so well.

I kept myself busy chasing after Lena with tissues each time I saw her crying and was available for hugs in an instant. Something we both needed and Daughter Number 1 was also a huge support and we stayed very close all day which was particularly helpful when her dad then turned up to play squash! Luckily I had been warned 5 minutes before he arrived. Sadly Mr W couldn't be available all day as he had to go to and from work.  

When it was all over, I offered Mr W's services to transport all the flowers back to Lenas house and she ordered us to come and spend the evening with her. I didn't want to intrude on family time but she made it very clear she wanted me there. It was a great time to get to know some her family better in the intimacy and calm of her home, in particular her son-in-law who is an incredible 'Floral Sculptor' and who made the Floral Tribute that lay on Jays Coffin. I have never seen such an amazing work of Floral art before. (I have also introduced Owen to Blip - fingers crossed he finds this amazing community!)

Mr W and I ended up eating and drinking with Lenas twin sister, brother in law and nephew until the small hours when Lena could hardly keep her eyes open anymore. 

Sleep tight Sweet Jay. We shall never forget you.

xXx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.