The Tall Ships Are Here!

My Dad and I went to see the tall ships come into Bay City, Michigan today. I didn't know if we would get to go, but our patient (my sister) is doing pretty good...so off we went.

The strong winds were playing havoc with the ships, and they were having trouble coming from the bay into the river. Plus, with the headwind...all the sails of all the boats were down. Not quite as majestic, but still fun to see.

When you say tall ships...I guess the term is relative. Yes, they are tall...but...that is a BIG BOAT behind the tall ship.

The pretty tall ship is the Pride of Baltimore (a topsail schooner-157 feet long), and the navy boat is the USS Edson. The Edson (a Sherman-class destroyer) was launched in January of 1958, weighs 2,800 tons, and is 418 feet long. It is now used as a naval museum, but it sure makes a nice background for the tall ships.

I'm glad that the ships make the stop in Bay City. It is an hour from our house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.