Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Escape!

They let me out! Unexpectedly, today my blood reached the correct level, and so I was allowed to leave. Of course, the leaving takes hours while they 'do the paperwork' in between bedpans and admitting the patients from the busy Monday operating theatres.

It also takes HOURS to track down a wheelchair. In a hospital! Poor JR was sent hither and thither trying to find one. But eventually, we made our getaway. Though I was somewhat disappointed to note that it was spotted dick - my absolute favourite - for tea tomorrow...

One new arrival who had her knee done this morning, was telling us about how she SAW her leg up in the air being painted red in the operating theatre. Thereafter she closed her eyes but heard it all. EEEEEEK! Once the anaesthetic wore off her legs, she was writhing in pain for ages while they stood around, sent for doctors, consulted and chatted about what to give her and what dosage. Not on!

I was quite teary to leave my wee helium voiced pal. She's had lots of knocks in her life, and it's not exactly a bed of roses now, but she remains upbeat. She fair brightened up my extended hospital stay. In fact, she was brilliant.

Lovely to be home, though Archie is very suspicious of my clumpy walking sticks.

Imagine my delight when I got home to find a letter confirming that I was on the waiting list for my next knee replacement!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.