Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Is your knee sore, mum?

Gosh, it's blissful to be home. I had a good sleep and nobody woke me at 6am to take blood or to give me a jab in the stomach. The hottest day of the year - the wards will be unbearably hot.

I don't even need to press a buzzer and wait half an hour to get attention. My every need is anticipated. Archie has not done any of his 'wee turns' this morning, but just pootles about, sometimes sitting on my knee, sometimes just on my foot, or watching JR carefully in the kitchen, as she was chopping and doing interesting things in the kitchen. Carrots might have been involved.

Sat out in my nightie this morning in the front garden, but soon had to go in - too hot. Out the back in the shade later on was much more bearable. I just move around different seats, as they all get uncomfortable after a wee while.

I'm now in bed resting doing my horizontal exercises stretching my leg out flat, which is actually quite painful, but important to keep at it.

Sorry to inflict this on you, but I wanted to record The Knee. The dressing could do with being changed, but we're working up to that. The bruising around my knee is turning a delicate shade of yellow now. And those aren't my tight white stockings I need to wear for six weeks - those are my blotchy lilywhite legs. And the elephantine knees are not trick photography - they're real!

JR and Archie are going up the hill. A little bowl of chopped peaches and grapes has been brought to me. How did JR know that it was just what I fancied?.

I may snooze.

Edit. After my snooze I was lured out to the back garden to recline in the new sunloungers (very comfy) and eat a Magnum. I will recover in no time at this rate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.