Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Peas please

ForthPort's contribution to the Doric conversation of yesterday regarding the dead person deserves repeating here -

'Furry boots diddy dee?'. *

Janet and Bailey came to take Archie up the Hill this morning. Lucky dog. I insisted that JR sat on the sofa all morning - she hasn't stopped being busy since she officially retired. And of course she was twice as busy before that. I sat on the sofa too, but I don't need to be forced. We watched a couple of episodes of an old series I had recorded - London Spy. A bit odd, but weirdly watchable.

I'm not really sleeping well at night - can't get comfortable, and certainly can't lie with my leg flat as they instructed. I need a wee pillow under my knee, which is probably the wrong thing to do. My bum is sore - not only sitting and lying on it for long periods, but walking and indeed, standing, makes it ache. What a state.

I went for another walk along the road, a wee bit further, but I've no idea if I'm trying too hard, or not doing enough.

Rufus and his mum popped in today with an extra birthday present. JR had given me a birthday bag of fresh peas - another of my addictions - but I had to pod some for the meal. I left about 16 of them - plenty. Christine shares this addiction, and brought me a bag, nicely wrapped in birthday paper. My wee pal in Jersey grows them and sends me frequent texts, taunting me on the plumpness and sweetness of their never-ending crop, which, of course, is how they should be eaten.

And guess what, Archie goes crazy for them too, but he just gets my leftover pods. Win win.



*'Whereabouts did he die?'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.