Le Fenetre d'Arpette

WHR day 2.

Today's a tough day for the group and I don't mind admitting I found it heavy going in places too, a torn boot lining causing major damage to a toe, thank heavens for gaffa tape and plasters.

Starting in beautiful Trient (1297m) we climbed steeply to the Col du Forclaz and then wandered along the bisse de Trient towards the glacier of the same name. Eventually we break left and start to climb, for a while walking along the ridge formed by a textbook perfect lateral moraine, but soon we leave the shade of the trees and climb in the blazing sun towards the Rochers Arpette. The climb takes us nearly 5 hours, lots of liquid breaks and simply hard going, but eventually we reach the col, le fenêtre at 2665m. Today's blip is the view from there looking east along the Vale d'Arpette towards our (hidden) destination, Champex Lac. The descent takes very nearly as long as this early in the season we have to contend with not just the infamous boulders but also some large snow patches.
3 of the group didn't feel up to today and took an easier route ( with a fellow guide friend of mine keeping an eye on then as he shepherded his own group). The Arpette looms over Trient and looks intimidating, but today is a day I really need to see how the clients deal with so I can make the tough decisions required over the next few days as we head high to the refuges and enter a world where there are no easy options.
It's doubtful I'll have Web access tomorrow, and I most definitely won't after that, so all things being well I'll reconnect with you on Friday. As ever thank you all so much for stopping by and for the kindness you've shown my recent blips, I'll try and catch up with you all personally when I can.

Notes to self
D2. AL2/1O, FR3/10.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.