Lesser spotted Sakala

Today has been glorious. Just how days in the summer holidays should be.

This morning SS and I went on our holiday book hunt, picking up sale bargains in Waterstones and finding treasures in the library. The two books I'm most excited about are Paul Theroux's most recent travel memoir, Deep South and a book about the changing face of Africa, The Rift. I've got a tiny obsession with the Deep South of the States and it's my dream to drive through some of the Southern States one day (if Trump doesn't screw everything up). So far I've only been to South Carolina (for a weekend) and it has done nothing but whet my appetite. Paul Theroux is clearly going to have the same effect.

This afternoon I dragged SS out on another Shropshire walk (I get company, she gets a cider at the end). It was beautiful! We walked from Pontesbury, through fields of oats/wheat/barley (delete as applicable), along the Rea Brook, through a forest, into a waterfall for a paddle, past some ponds and to the pub. My face is telling me that it was even a little sunnier that it felt. More sunburn to add to the sunburn.

Cheeky curry as a treat, it is the holidays after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.