Swiss National Day

WHR Day 8.

Is a rest day :)
And this year it coincides with Switzerland's National Day, which, as we're in Zinal is basically one big party.
I started the day with a fantastic lazy breakfast and then used my guides pass to ride the lift up to 2400m for coffee then had a gentle wander up to the Corne de Sorebois 2896, but sadly the clouds didn't play ball with the view.
I grabbed today's blip (the Zinalrothorn looming large above the pyramid of the Besso) and headed down for a snooze before a late afternoon of sampling cheese, wine, beer and some truly scary apricot based meths type drink the locals seem to like...

An utterly stupendous firework display, from the cliffs opposite our hotel has made today's extra - and now the disco is on till 2am...I've abandoned the early start and we'll play tomorrow by ear, but it's a long hard day over the Forcletta to Grüben. It's remote so I'll be absent for a day or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.