LadyPride

By LadyPride

Time is on my side (yes it is)

Since having a baby, my time management skills have been put to the test on a daily basis.

Life is now broken down into three hour slots with Audrey, night and day. Feed, wind, keep upright (her reflux prevents the quick 'put down after feed' manoeuvre favoured by other parents) change, play, then finally settle for sleep.

If I'm lucky, Audrey's sleep gives me valuable time to do the things I would have otherwise done quite casually in my old life. Oh you know, like showering, eating, cleaning up, sleeping etc.

And on top of that as I run my own business and don't really have a proper maternity leave, I often try and squeeze an email or phone call in too.

Then if I'm really lucky and there's time left over (unlikely), I might get chance to do my hair or put a wash on or call my Mum or reply to a friend's text message. Not to mention, time to upload my blip.

You can get the violins out now if you like?

But as difficult as life is with a new baby, you do become very efficient. You have to. I am now very very fast in the shower in the morning. I've trimmed my make up regime down to five minutes and as for selecting what to wear....the criteria is simple - what's the weather like, is it clean, does it have baby sick on it and do I look sane (as opposed to Helena Bonham-Carter esque).

There's no dawdling anymore. Getting food for yourself can be a real challenge as its inevitable that the baby will tune into your hunger pangs and start playing up, thereby preventing you from entering the kitchen, never mind the fridge!

Your baby also has an acute sense of hearing for wine corks being popped. No sooner is the liquid in the glass of an evening (very necessary I find in helping ease away the stresses of the day) and you're about to take your first tentative sip; you can bet your bottom dollar that the baby monitor will crackle!

But its hard to complain. You can't go into this with your eyes closed. Having a baby means putting your baby's needs first. You end up detoxing a lot of unnecessary activities, habits and even people from your old life and in some cases that isn't a bad thing.

Today's picture is of the beautifully peaceful Chorltonville, a suburban enclave in Chorlton Cum Hardy where I live. It reminds me of Wisteria Lane in Desperate Housewives, all lush green lawns and water sprinklers. We walked down there with the pram in the middle of the day today and it was eerily quiet. Until Audrey decided to test her lungs. Obviously. Suffice to say, we made a sharp exit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.