Return to the North

By Viking

Not a Purple Headed Swamp Hen

Yesterday while I was out walking at Far Ings I overheard talk of a rare bird taking up temporary residence at Alkborough Flats. Today i decided to head down there for my 10,000 step walk. 
There was a definite air of excitement down there - with birdspotters everywhere. One couple I spoke too hd come all the way from Bristol for the day to see the rare visitor. Alas i did not see the shy swamp hen but I did brave the 27 degrees and go for my walk. Fark was it hot! 
I thin these are redshanks although could be wrong - seriously cropped! 

As an aside it is also my 2500th blip today. (makes me with I had captured the kingfishers in flight that I saw) 
What can I say that everyone else reaching a milestone hasn't said already? Probably not a lot! I have never been one that is anal about blipping and there have been days missed over the 8/9 years I've been doing it. Ive met and will no doubt continue to meet wonderful Blippers.
My life has changed in huge ways since I started and some of you have been along for the ride - here's to the next 2500!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.