Male vs Female!

When I spoke a while back about male and female flowers on my squash, and how I only had male and was going to eat them, someone said they didn't know there were 2 sexes. So here they are! On the left the male with a hoverfly covered in pollen from the flowers and doing an excellent job of pollination! The difference in the male and female is obvious, the male has an anther and the female a stigma! Also the males are on long stems and the female close to the stem of the plant. These are on my Patty Pan green plant and fingers crossed I will be eating some soon!
Sister came with me to do the chickens, it was a glorious morning with a clear blue sky. She took photos of the chickens as i fed them, then we sat in my directors chairs and had a cup of tea. Whilst I cleaned the coop she picked flowers from my plot and come eleven it was getting pretty hot and we headed home for breakfast! Coffee and croissants!
Friend came down and had lunch with us later as she was having a Boiler fitted and her houise was pretty noisy! 
Rest of the day spent lazily, I am still processing the photos from our trip out yesterday and am only a fraction of the way through - another trip out tomorrow - oh hell! 
There were particularly beautiful Angel Rays this evening - a few more here, they were most beautiful to watch,took loads but no time to process them all! Must learn to take less or be more discerning in what I process! Ha! Never going to happen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.