photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 253 of 366 - Guy's Cliffe House!

Today's image was taken this morning just outside the town of Warwick. The view is of the ruins of Guy's Cliffe House taken from outside the grounds and over the River Avon. This Grade II listed building has had a varied history. The house itself which is now a partial ruin, dates back to 1751 and was built for Samuel Greatheed who was a member of parliament for Coventry. The house was used as a Red Cross voluntary aid Hospital during the First World War and then as a School boarding house for evacuated children during the Second World War. After this unfortunately the house feel into decline and during filming of an episode of the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes in 1992 a fire scene got out of control and seriously damaged the house. The main gates to the house were closed at the front but I am hoping to get a tour of the house and ruins soon.

The photo was taken using the app Cortex Camera on my iPhone 6.

First I used the app Snapseed to edit the picture. I Cropped and Straightened the image and applied the Tonal Contrast preset. I then boosted the Saturation, Contrast and Ambiance. I also sharpened the picture and added a little Structure. Next I used the app DistressedFX to add the Stirred overlay and the Lade texture. I then flattened the image and applied the Citrus overlay and the Lazarus texture Finally I used PhotoToaster to add the Recover Highlights preset and a Medium Dark Vignette. I then added the Scratched texture and the Drawn frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.