From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

It's a puzzle to me

I couldn't take many pictures as I'd walked up to Brig o' Doon with mom. We had lovely lemon meringue in the coffee shop as I'd raved so much about it when I'd gone there the day before. I couldn't get mom to go round the museum or cottage as the last time we'd been, it had been with dad just after the Robert Burns Birthplace Museum had first opened.

I can't complain as I've been twice this week since getting my National Trust membership on Sunday at Brodick Castle. It drives mom mad when I am constantly stopping to take pictures! No worse than me waiting while she squeezes all the fruit and bread in Morrisons, I reckon!

Just pretty flowers and a strange tree of which there are loads in this part of the country is my blip. It's not very good as I couldn't see what I was doing in the bright sunshine. What tree is that? Is it a monkey puzzle?

Here is an extract from Burns' 'Banks o' Doon' to accompany this.

Ye banks and braes o' bonie Doon,
How can ye bloom sae fresh and fair?
How can ye chant, ye little birds,
And I sae weary fu' o' care!
Thou'll break my heart, thou warbling bird,
That wantons thro' the flowering thorn:
Thou minds me o' departed joys,
Departed never to return.

The tune is lovely and I haven't heard it since school days. It doesn't really go but matches my melancholy mood right now.

Pete Seeger - Where have all the flowers gone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.