From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Another day on Arran / Holy Isle

I am writing this as I sit on the ferry back to Ardrossan. I am feeling so shattered I feel like shutting my eyes and leaving them shut for a year. Maybe things might seem better when I open them again?

It was another beautiful day in Ayrshire so it made sense to go to the island again as I can't see me doing it again before next summer. Same routine as Tuesday so I won't bore you with the same stuff.

I got the tour bus today which went via Brodick Castle to Lamlash Harbour. The castle is more of a stately home that's been almost totally rebuilt over the years. I felt no inclination to go there although the gardens with its abundance of flowers and lush ancient trees are wonderful to see.

At Lamlash Harbour, I was able to catch a little boat to the Holy Isle. My knees were knocking like castanets clambering down the slippery steps into the very rocky boat. There, a hippy type man with a tatty jumper and sandals told the little band of visitors including me some history of the island. Celtic Christian Saint Molaise lived on the island in a hermit's cave. I expect he was trying to avoid paying taxes or something. These days the island is owned by Tibetan Buddhists. People go there for a retreat and to indulge in various spiritual persuits. With the absence of a phone signal and no satellite dishes visible, I expect they don't do a lot in the evenings. There was no pub either!

I had a wander after that trying to avoid Soay sheep shit which was everywhere. The little animals were dotted all over the hills and shore. I had a cuppa made by a man looking like Crocodile Dundee at the hut selling scented candles, incense sticks, ornaments and books sitting outside on a log while he sat on a bench staring out to sea and playing a guitar quite badly. Nothing wrong with his tea making skills though...

I left there soon after for the little boat back to Arran and it is from that boat looking back at the Holy Isle, I took today's picture. I was the first one into the boat so was at the engine/flag end. I thought about unfurling the flag but worried about falling in and drowning. It was appealing for a second but being stung to death by the jellyfish was not appealing at all!

Back on Arran, pizza and beer again before one more little bus and finally the ferry. The rest is the same as Tuesday but I didn't lose another brolly as I had none to lose.

Best viewed large

P.S. I have added more Arran/Holy Isle pictures into that same Arran folder as the guitar playing man. I hope you like them.

Track? Here's a bit of classic Rainbow for no good reason at all - I Surrender

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.