Curemonte

Curemonte is an odd place dating from Gallo Roman period.. It was quite an important place in medieval times due to the local guys doing quite well in the crusades. There are three chateaux and three churches in the village dating from the 11th century. It was pretty much abandoned by the 1940s.

It took me about 35 minutes to walk in this morning. I was hoping there might be a boulangerie there but no. Garlic, onions and shallots were available in one place and regional specialities (foie gras, walnuts etc) in another but that was about it. Fortunately we weren't depending on that for lunch. There is a bar tabac and restaurant there and loads of great and some slightly spooky buildings.

I'll put some more shots up when the internet will let me. I got more from yesterday's adventures up this morning 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.