Cygnus

By Cygnus

Golden grasses

I had my mother-in-law round for lunch today, so it was a good excuse to do the traditional Sunday roast. The Ards Man and I hardly ever have 'proper' Sunday lunch when it's just the two of us, so it was nice to take time to make gravy and prepare sticky toffee pudding (not for the same course!).

My MIL was widowed just a few months ago and is still finding her way in this new quiet and bereft existence. We went out for a little drive after lunch and stopped to look at the sea, while I took the opportunity to take some photos, too. I'm still looking for 'leading lines' for my photography class homework, but I liked the light on these pampas grasses.

On the way home my little 88-year-old mother-in-law bought us all an ice cream cone from Maud's (a famous Ulster brand) and we enjoyed eating them while watching the world go by. Another world.

In the end we didn't eat our dessert at lunchtime - too full - so the AM and I are going to have it for tea instead. The indulgence!! I hope calories don't count on a Sunday.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.