2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Gamesmakers

It wasn't just the team in red shirts that made these Games.
The armed forces (all 3 of them) and the police from all over the country have been magnificent.

I didn't ask for the hat. The Officer removed it and placed it in my head!
Just another example of their magnificence. Did I tell you about the West Yorkshire Police doing the Lightning Bolt the other night?
An easy morning then a leisurely ride to Stratford. I finished Friday's blip at Stratford before a slow walk to my shift. I didn't want this shift to start because I knew it would end after it started. Yes, I did feel very emotional and I wasn't alone.

We got to see the action on the screen at the warm up track. I even got a minute with Mo Farah and had a joke with him.

I was sent on my break at the perfect time and got a great place to watch when I was moved on. Let's just say some of the paid security staff could have behaved differently.
Anyway I keep learning and got a great spot to see the finale of the men's 5000m, lost my voice and cried when Mo Farah became a Double Olympic Champion. A man asked if he could photo me. I agreed. I don't mind saying I cried and I don't mi.d that there are photos. I have some myself that he took for me. It was almost my blip.
We gathered together for the medal ceremony, which was moved to be the last action of the evening. A brilliant move. We asked Team GB head coach Charles Van Commonee to join us for the medal ceremony and he was very kind in the words of praise he had for us. Seems we've done ok :)
We sang our hearts out.
After all was done we did our own relay, passing one of the Gamesmaker batons around the track. I fell flat on my face again!
And that was that. The greatest experience of my life (?) is almost over.
And now I can look forward to getting home to my Wife and Son. As good as this is, there is no place like home.
I actually have no voice left now

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.