Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Battered Bugle

Started today with a swim. Haven't been for around six weeks now so wasnt sure how far I'd get. I was amazed that I swam without stopping for 1,400m before fatigue set in. That's almost a mile! I think I could have managed it, but, at my advancing age, I though better of it and opted for the safe option. Should break that target next time though.

This is the bugle that was my grandads. He enlsited in the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry at the outbreak of WW2 and later in the war served with The Sherwood Foresters. Many have said that an army marches on its stomach. Grandad was one of those that helped - he didn't fight but was a cook. No doubt the bugle was used to announce the arrival of much needed food across many battle fields. I understand that cooks also doubled up and acted as medics. I need to check his records but, as you can see, this instrument has seen significant active service. It is well battered and worn. I sure I recall him saying that it was used at El Alamein. He was also a great mouth organ player - something you rarely hear nowadays.

After the war he returned to working in the coal mines but never lost his cooking skills. He was a fantatsic pastry cook, something my mum learnt.

As a kid, I remember playing this bugle in the scout band, especially on rememberence sunday. Few momentos can hold so much history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.