Ross and Ash (GGSA2016)

It's that time of year again when the Good Gang (or parts thereof) gather for the annual special assignment, and this year we are congregating in Cambridge. For me, this involves driving to the bottom of the M6 and then heading east for so long that I keep expecting to see the the Netherlands appearing on the horizon. 

Still, I arrived at the hotel just after two o'clock, dumped my bags and set off for The Mitre - only a third of mile away across Jesus Green - where Ash and Bob were waiting. And, happily, Ross was only about a bottle of beer behind me. 

If your slippers were bright and funny and kept you on your toes, then I would say that meeting up with these old friends of mine was just like putting on a pair. We had a hoot, moving from pub to pub (under Bob's guidance) and ending up in a Thai 'street food' restaurant (also discovered by Bob). All his choices were fab.

Here are Ross (on the left) and Ash. I took the photo with a lens that I'd just bought from Ash, who is an excellent photographer, as he has recently upgraded to an eye-wateringly expensive wide-angle lens and kindly let me have this old one at mates' rates. What I love about this photo, though, is the clear joy and affection on Ash's face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.