A Day At A Time.

By ElCid

Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life

Today I met an elderly gentleman, who, on the pretext of asking for information, really just wanted someone to talk to.

He told me about his life.

How he had trained guide dogs for the blind for 26 years and never had one returned as not being good enough.

How he had buried four of his six children before any reached the age of 21.

How his first wife couldn't cope with the terrible loss and had left him to live in solitude.

How his second wife was much more interested in playing Bridge than being with him and had just suggested that he find somewhere else to live.

He told me all this with moistening eyes and a faltering voice, but we parted company a little later, I hope, both feeling a little better.

Remind me never to complain again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.