Contrasts

We have a very late flight back to Gatwick so there was a good opportunity to explore Ragusa on our own.

Near to our hotel were some dramatic (and startlingly ugly) "Fascist buildings" as our tour guide called them. I started off walking across the bridge for a closer look. I've put photos of those on my Facebook page.

Then I returned to the Baroque and modern part of the upper city.

A chance for a closer look at the Catedrale di San Giovanni. As I came out of one of the doors I was struck by the contrast between the carved wooden door and the stark concrete square building across the square. Hence this blip which is not the prettiest photo I took.

Hidden gardens, quaint squares, people watching. I've almost enjoyed our "free time" the most on this trip.

Thank you for joining me and for your lovely comments.

Clearly, I would recommend this area - and of course, Montalbano himself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.