Day three, blah blah blah

My body has not yet readjusted to the changing of the clocks and so I was wide awake at 5am. The positive side of this was that I was out of the door by 7.30am, greeted by the most atmospheric, foggy autumn morning. Perfect for a long walk to work.

Just me in the office today so I plodded along with some work. I checked my bank account to find more money in it than expected. It seems I'd been paid a month's salary from my previous employer who thought they were paying the 'other' Hannah Moore. Thus began a series of emails between various people, who are now seemingly referring to us as PH (previous Hannah) and CH (current Hannah).

Went to the Old Market Hall cinema with Lucy after work to see 'I, Daniel Blake'. I think we were both a little speechless afterwards. I can only describe it as a kick in the gut, and one of the only films I've seen where there's been a shocked, audible sobbing throughout the movie (not just me, I promise). The kind of film that needs a good hour to sit and process afterwards (which I haven't, yet, so maybe more on this tomorrow) and one that demands some kind of action, some response. Emotions ranged from sadness to anger throughout the movie. Go see it, take a tissue, prepare to be challenged.

Dinner tonight was Hugh's fishcakes with crushed, minted broad beans. I appreciate that nobody really cares, but I've started now and am unable to stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.