Stranger to Stranger

Today's the day ....................... for clever words

This is the new Paul Simon album 'Stranger to Stranger'  that we heard a number of the tracks from last night

I don't think I had ever fully appreciated how clever Paul Simon is with the lyrics of his songs.  I found myself laughing out loud on several occasions last night.  Here's a good example of the sort of thing I mean in his song 'Wristband'.

He changed the lyrics of one of his songs last night to make it very pertinent to the American Presidential Election.  The vote-counting was, of course, actually happening across America while the concert was on - and the song was an amusing reminder of that fact.

Much less amusing - indeed completely incomprehensible - was the result of the election that we all woke up to today ...........................  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.