Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Autumn Series No 8: Colours of Autumn

My autumn series was briefly suspended while recovery takes over.  I spent the morning catching up with work-related matters.  Modern technology allows unprecedented access to our work's systems these days.

At lunch time I quickly grabbed the camera and had a brief walk to the front of the house, where our winter flowering cherry was dropping leaves at a fast rate.  I grabbed a few of them and arranged them on the kitchen table for this shot.  I wanted to show off the range of colours.  Regrettably the photo session was halted by the arrival of the first of two engineers to carry out repairs.  

We love the appliances in our kitchen, but we've had a few problems switching on the one oven using the touch sensitive controls.  The engineer was confident "we've had a number of reports about this, it's a simple matter sorted by a firmware upgrade".  Ahem.

When he left almost 2 hours later he had reduced our oven to a very expensive box, having failed on numerous occasions to breathe new life  into it after a failed first firmware upgrade.  "I'll be back next Wednesday with a new circuit board [to replace the one I've just 'fried' for you!]".  He didn't get a drink!

Then the satellite engineer turned up to sort out the kitchen television box, which keeps losing it's network connection.  His solution - a wifi booster, even though the router and TV box are less than 10 feet apart!  Result = new big booster box.

I knew explaining what had gone on today wasn't going to be easy when my wife returned home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.