Peace

I left Claire and Gary's about 11am thinking I'd 'hug' the coast as much as possible to drive home. On route I came across a National Trust property. Lyveden New Bield. Figured it was a beautiful day and that would make a free outing so went. First stop was for a spot of 'lunch' at the tea shop. (Scone, jam and coffee) I enjoyed watching the birds flit from table to table. There was a baby bird still relying on parents to pick up the crumbs and fed it but everyone and then you could see them looking at it and saying "Really? Just pick it up yourself….it's right there and it's safe!"
Wandered around the property. Kind of odd! Seemingly this guy wanted to build a grand house (on the small side) to show off to peers. Only the shell was completed with doorways for servants to stoop through before he ran into money problems. There was some link between him and the gun powder plot gang…..but I can't what exactly!!
The grounds were beautifully peaceful. I sat and enjoyed this spot in the photo for a long while.
When leaving there at 5pm I started to think more seriously about going home or not! I decided why not have a mini holiday! So found and booked a B&B near King's Lynn online, stopped off at a diner for dinner, checked in to my room then headed out to see the sea at 9pm! Found a spot near Hunstanton, climbed up the sand dunes and down the stepped promenade, and sat in the dark watching the waves lap up the shore and the tide creep in. It felt warm and summery! :) The only down fall was that there was no one to share it with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.