Power lines

Spent the day dawdling along the coast. I was hoping to see the big cooling chimneys to take a photo thats been on my mind for a couple years now…..but never found the spot!
I was hoping for a little walk along the beach somewhere and a cafe for a nice coffee. I was struck by the brash tacky colours and entertainment arcades anywhere near the beach around Skegness…..so drove by safely in my car to find a more 'my kind of place' place!
Stopped at Chapel St Leonards. There was nothing there but long straight beach and the odd iron 'sculpture placed to enhance my experience'!!! Hmmm!
Enjoyed walking along the beach heading for some little houses in the distance (Sandilands) and hoping to find somewhere to buy a drink! Em..no! Never mind….lets look at this sculpture to enhance my experience of the beach!…..and enjoy watching two horses being road on the sand and along the water…back to the car. I stopped off at the Humber Bridge and took some photos but it was getting cold and a bit bleak.
Still looking for the cooling towers and coming to the conclusion that it wasn't going to happen and lighting not being what I wanted it….my priority became finding somewhere to get dinner!
As I pulled in to KFC the sky started to burst with colour and I knew I had to find somewhere fast to take some shots. So, dinner in the car I headed off, chasing the sunset, in the hopes of finding a good spot. This was the spot I found just before the sun disappeared on another day.
I continued my journey along the coast wondering if I'd look for another B&B for the night. But they were fewer and far between now and the forecast said rain for tomorrow. So, stick along the coast as long as I could but head home late.
It was dark by the time I arrived in Withernsea and starting to rain but found the sea front quite intriguing! There was a large, grand stone gateway that lead down some steps into….the crashing black sea!!! Looks like a place I will need to visit again.
I continued driving along the coast to Hornsea (aiming for Bridlington) and knew that I was getting too tired so turned for home at that point and was very pleased and greatful to find a number of McDonalds still open for something to keep me awake and going till I reached home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.