Salford

I was off work today as I'd promised to take Milly down to Salford for an interview. She had an unconditional offer from them to go there in September 2015 and then again in September of this year but they wouldn't extend it further and she wanted to do another year's travelling. Young people, eh? (Thank God for them.)

So, we were all set to leave this morning when we had a late addition to our party. Dan had a brace fitted yesterday which - as we were warned - is entirely uncomfortable and he didn't fancy sitting in lessons all day worrying at the sudden arrival of this metal matrix in his mouth. Since Dan *never* takes time off school, I was inclined to take him at his word and so it was that the three of us headed to Salford Quays.

While Milly was interviewed, Dan and I found a café where I did a bit of work and he read his book. I bought him a mince pie and it was a bit sad to see his usually constant appetite reduced to the occasional nibble. We had a chat about it and the bar across the roof of his mouth is preventing him from swallowing, poor chap. 

After a couple of hours, Milly let us know she was done and we set off for home, stopping off at Botany Bay for a bit of Christmas shopping. Having got the kids home, I took a few minutes out to grab this photo before popping across to Whoop Hall for a swim and then on to the Minx's for leftover chilli (from last night) and a bit of prep for this week's Electronic Ears. 

I played this track on the show last week - so I won't be playing it again, this week - but I can't stop listening to it. It's a choral piece that Kate Bush lifted for part of "Hello Earth". Performing this has gone on my bucket list (which is full of highly improbable activities, like finishing my book!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.