Simply Me

By Suze981

Admiration

I have a problem. When I'm in the presence of someone I admire, I act completely insane. In my family this is known as the Michael Schumacher effect. Yes there is a story, but only those that are closest to me know it well.

Anyway, It happened again.

I love Jasper Fforde. He has long been my favourite author. I've spoken to him before and always appeared sane. I admit that I've always had a crush on him, but that's nothing new!

Tonight I made an ass out of myself. I went to see Fforde as part of the Edinburgh Book Festival. We got to the signing tent and Jasper and I had a relatively normal chat. Emboldened I asked him for a photo...

I then lost the plot. I dropped my camera, I then broke my camera iPhone app, I then couldn't work my phone - and shook like I was a drug addict. This went on to the extent that Jasper said:

"You do realise that there are 1600 people in the queue staring at the back of your head right now"

It was said with satire. But yes I was acutely aware of that fact. We hugged-ish, got our photos taken and then parted. I could have spoken again but I appreciated it would have made me look like a crazy stalker freak. I did that on my own anyways!

Can we ever meet our heroes and still appear normal?

I hate the fact that we get nervous meeting heroes... They're just people after all!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.