Lamp

I went to school in Kingston-upon-Thames although, like most of my friends, I didn't live there; parents were keen for their boys to go to the grammar school and would favour it over a more local comprehensive school. (To be clear, I went to Tiffin Boys. Kingston Grammar was actually a private school.)

Consequently, a lot of my friends lived not one but two bus rides away from me, one into Kingston and then one out to wherever they lived, be it Ham, Walton, or Banstead. For my more local friends, I could at least use my bike. 

My children, growing up in Kirkby Lonsdale are in a similar position; even though the school is here, a lot of their friends live elsewhere. Unlike my experience, though, the bus options are very limited - and non-existent on Sundays - as are the opportunities for cycling. Consequently, as my kids have reached their teens, demands on my taxi service - unpaid but usually appreciated - increase. 

Today I had to take Dan to Morecambe for work and also drop off Abi, who was meeting up with friends, and then collect Milly (who admittedly can drive but who is currently carless) from her boyfriend's. Then there was time for a run and a bit of housework before heading back to pick Dan and Abi up again. But I had Milly for company and, you know what, I don't really mind.

We decided to stop for groceries on the way back but to eschew Booths in Kirkby Lonsdale, The popular vote was for for Aldi in Carnforth, so that's where we went. I like Aldi a lot. Not only for what it sells but because, like Lidl, it's a handy example to use when I start ranting about PLCs and how they're at the root of a lot of our economic problems.

Anywaaaaay, back to Aldi. As I said, I like what it sells and Milly, having lived on a tight budget last year in Whistler, loves the prices. She was grinning from ear to ear all the way 'round. I don't suppose I'm alone in finding myself making unanticipated purchases in Aldi. Today it was not the magnum of Prosecco for £12.99 - tempting though that was - but a lamp for a rather dark corner of the kitchen.

So here it is, along with some odds and sods that have collected on the kitchen table: a bedside flask with cup, from Ikea; some flowers, a tin of extra virgin olive oil; the remains of the Christmas cake; and a guitar lead. The Christmas cake relocated to the bin just after I took the photo. I was so pleased with it that I haven't been able to bring myself to throw it away but as I'm dieting, it isn't getting eaten. Speaking of which...

****
Diet news
-1.9kg AAAARGH! No better than January 6th, two weeks ago! OK, maybe it's the legacy of Katie's party on Thursday but, Lord, I need to knuckle down. 
I did go out for a four mile run, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.