Yep....

More photos of Katie dancing. Because today she's either done music, or she's danced (Excluding the boring inconvenience, in her mind, of school!) 

The day began with her being incredibly adorable. I woke feeling quite rough. She came back to me a few minutes later with a cup of tea for me. She made her breakfast and came & sat on my bed with me. I got up with her and helped her get dressed and sorted. She did her piano practise whilst I quickly jumped in the bath before we went to B's. She had a clarinet lesson before school this morning. It became apparent quite quickly that it would be better if this week I wasnt in the lesson, but I sat outside listening. She was having a bit of trouble concentrating for a fair chunk of the lesson but I heard some quite excited "ohhh B, did you hear, I did it!?" Afterwards, B told me she's given her some really quite complicated stuff and she tackled it with ease. When we got in the car to go to school she said "mama, you really don't look very well. I think you should go home and have a big cup of tea & lots of water. And rest. It would be better if you had ribena (my poorly drink of choice) but don't go to the shops". After school she said "did you have tea? No? What about water? ribena? Ohhh mama!" 

Tonight was her first commercial/street dance class. I didn't know what to expect but I've since found out that her teacher for this class is Really good. She enjoyed it a lot. She'll feel even better when she's got an outfit more like her classmates - we had no idea what they'd be wearing so sent her in the best we could do with no information and it was an ok guess, but we can do a bit better for tomorrow's musical theatre class now we know! She's beginning to know a couple of the girls' names which is a good start. Word is out at her old ballet school that she's not coming back, which she'd not been looking forward to, she's happy with the decision but doesn't want people fussing her with questions. 

When we got home she really wanted me to play her a new wee piece I learnt today - she thought it was very pretty and decided to dance to it. I then decided to take some photos of her dancing. She did a gorgeous job playing her clarinet solo for Saturday's festival class and showed me the clever knew things she'd learnt today (including her first use of what she and B have termed "the banana key"). She wanted to do some more time on her PBT exercises and her flexibility stretches, so I let her stretch with a bit of Netflix. It worked well as it definitely distracted her into getting much better stretches. Some of these stretches we haven't been doing very long and I can definitely notice a big difference already. Her adorable enthusiasm did mean though that she was nearly 2 hours later than I had intended to put her to bed! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.